16.6 Cubic Feet Upright Freezer Fermantation Chamber Build

Hi All,

I thought I would track on this forum my ‘brewpi build’ using an upright 16.6 cubic foot freezer as the fermentation chamber in the hopes that I could get some feedback from the community here as well as help others with future builds. I currently use this freezer for temp control with a ranco controller and decided to go with a brew pi after not being happy with the temp overshoot. I will preface all of this with I am a DIY noob with limited time on my hands. As such I am taking a ‘plug n play’ approach as much as possible. While not as interesting as some of the fridge hacks on here, perhaps it will serve as another guide for those similar to me that are looking for the functionality of the brewpi without some of the DIY aspects.

From reading up on the brewpi, I have put together a shopping list of items needed to get this project underway. I will be going with ‘Method 1,’ which is using switched power cords and leaving the freezer in its original state. Hopefully someone can chime in if I am missing something and answer a couple of questions I have:

• Brew Pi Spark v2 normal w/ enclosure + particle photon
• 12V Power Supply for Brew Pi Spark
• 2 Waterproof OneWire Temperature Sensor (RJ11, DS18B20). One for the conical thermowell, the other for the air in fridge.
• 2 SSRs: 1 for cooling and 1 for heating. Since I am going for a plug in play, I will get 2 PowerSwitch Tail II power cords.
Question, I am assuming I would get the ones that are ‘Normally Open (NO)’?
• Antec Tricool Computer Fan - 120mm DBB Cooling Fan with 3-Speed Switch for air circulation in the fermentation chamber.
• Zoo Med Reptile Heat Cable 100 Watts, 39-Feet.