A little advice please

Hi All,

I’m very new to brewing and to this forum, so I apologise if this has been covered.

My friend and I are just in the process of building a system. We currently have 3 x 75ltr pots (all with electric elements), Blichhman sparge arm and therminator plate chiller, a couple of pumps and we have have also gotten our hands on a large commercial double door fridge to use for fermentation. We will also be using a 60ltr plastic conical fermenter - one to start with but we will most likely will get a second as we have the space for it in the fridge.

We were just going to use a simple temperature controller to firstly manage the our water/wort temps and then move it to fridge to manage the fermentation when needed, however since the shop accidently added an element to our mash tun we are now considering recirculating the mash to maintain the temp and avoid any hotspots, we think it we just be easier to use a second controller.

Given the equipment we have and our plans we want to get one controller to run the brewery, rather than having multiple controllers and wiring running everywhere. Brewpi Sparkv2 looks really good.

So my question is What exactly do I need to order?
Im in Australia so want to make sure I get everything I need in one order.

Thanks in advance.
Regards

Paul

Using a separate controller for mashing and for fermentation will be easier to manage.

Did I understand correctly that you have a heating element in your mash tun? That would be a bad idea, if you already have 3 kettles for a HERMS. I would swap the kettle for one without an element.

We are working on a HERMS build guide, but it is not ready yet. But the schematics and some early photos might help you.

Schematics.pdf (122.2 KB)

Hi Elco,

Thanks for the quick reply.

I must have gotten confused and thought the brewpi was capable of managing both the mash and fermentation?
I will have another read through.