Better Brewing, With Math!

First off, greetings! I’m new to Arduino and Raspberry Pi, but I’ve been building PID’d espresso machines for years. I have a couple ideas I’d like to bounce off the brain trust here, but first, some background: I’m currently living near Seoul, South Korea and the nature of my job requires that I move quite often, so lugging a ferm-fridge around just isn’t an option. I do, however, have an all-grain rig that I schlep around (priorities :smile:). I want to integrate digital controls into my HLT, MT (via HERMS), and Boil Kettle. I also want to use a kimchi tub as a water bath for my carboys. So here it goes:

Brewing:

HLT- I don’t think PID control is the best solution here. PID is best suited for unknowns and very complex systems. We know how much water we have, we know the specific heat of water, and (with the addition of voltage and current sensors) we know how much energy is going into the vessel. Therefore it should be entirely possible to get almost exactly to the setpoint much more rapidly than can be accomplished with a PID algorithm. PID can help maintain a setpoint once reached, but I think this would be a more efficient method.

HERMS- Due to the complex thermal nature of this system, a motorized valve controlled by a PID seems like it’d work best here.