DanStar Nottingham Ale Yeast Profile

Hello all, first post here…

I wanted to share my profile I am trying out. This is being used with DanStar Nottingham Ale Yeast. (http://www.danstaryeast.com/company/products/nottingham-ale-beer-yeast). The ale I am brewing is a English Brown Ale.

From the lab’s page, the yeast’s optimum range is between 14-21C. I have to admit to being cautious about going down to 14C for fermentation though. I thought I would start at the warmer end for the first couple of days to ensure fermentation started, then ramp down for a few days before going back up to the high end of the range for a diacetyl rest before a cold crash at the end.

Thoughts anyone?

Thanks,
Jerry

2 Likes

It is what I would do for that yeast/beer but I am not an expert, be interested if anyone else has an opinion

Why do you start at 19 and then go down to 16? I wouldn’t do this warm start. The Notti is very strong and starts without any problems at 16 if you put enough.

I usually start at 16 with this yeast, then go up to 17 for secondary.

I never did a diatecyl-rest with this yeast.

No reason other than I had no better idea. :slight_smile:

My thinking was to encourage the fermentation to start strong, then to go to the cooler end for the majority of fermentation. As to the diacetyl rest, previously I had been advised that it is good to always do a diacetyl rest. I figure it cannot do any harm.

That was the reason for putting this up here - to get some feedback. It does seem that the BrewPi gives great ability to control fermentation, but it is very hard to find any information on how it should be controlled. I thought it would be good to have more discussion on here as to what works well.

I will try try starting lower next time and see how that goes.

Thanks for the feedback!

There is a very good book called Yeast that helps on this subject.