Freezer mode? Covid-19 forcing temporary food storage

I’ve been running a spark and brewpi for a few years now with awesome results. Enter Covid-19 and we’re stocking up on food, need to turn my fermentation chamber into a temporary freezer!

I’ve got it set to Beer Constant mode at 0 F and it’s holding around 10-15 degrees F with the beer sensor just kinda hanging in the chamber. It’s fairly warm in the room so it cycles every 20 minutes or so. Food is staying frozen.

Any ideas for optimizing this temporary use of my chamber? I might stick the beer sensor between some frozen peas to get a better read, wondering if that would stabilize things a bit more?

I’d suggest to remove the brewpi temporarily since you now have food in the freezer and let the freezer take over. Crude, but effective…:slight_smile: Unless it’s not a freezer but something else of course…the one I built is a chest freezer so I could always revert back to that.

1 Like

Fridge constant mode may be the more reliable option here. You have multiple items in there, and the exact temperature of any single item isn’t that important.

1 Like

I’m in the same boat. Can someone walk me though how to set this up? Im still very wet behind the ears with the new brewblox setup and Im quite confused.

Hardware-wise, there’s the fridge hacking guide (if that’s still an issue).

Software-wise, run the fermentation fridge Quickstart wizard. Either choose fridge mode during setup, or apply the “constant fridge temperature” quick action afterwards.

In fridge mode, your beer sensor will be ignored, and the system wil keep the fridge air temperature at constant temperature.

This is the big picture overview of where to look. Is there anything more specific that could use an explanation?

Ive got the fermentation thing set already. I cant seem to wrap my head around how to make it work in fridge constant mode.