Instructions for Spark

I found this site after reading the whole “Build your own Brewpi” thread on Homebrewtalk, and decided to wait for the Spark instead of trying to build my own. From the description, I assumed it would be mostly plug and play for temp control and I didn’t mind waiting or spending the extra money to have this new and awesome little product.

Problem is, I was hoping to see some sort of instruction sheet on how to work the darn thing. I realize it was shipped in test mode but my main problem is a complete lack of information on how to update or operate it. I had hoped there would be some sort of “easy setup” instruction sheet we could read to get started. I have poured over the forum topics and website trying to find the information and have only become more confused.

For the record, I have zero experience with programming of any sort so most of what is posted may as well be in a foreign language. Would it be possible to get a step by step instruction sheet on how to operate the Spark? I’m talking absolute idiot instructions. For someone like myself, with no basic knowledge, I feel like a lot of the simple stuff is not being talked about since most of you have been at this a long time and understand what is being said. I purchased a Raspberry Pi to go along with the Spark, but now I have absolutely no clue what purpose it serves…

Please don’t take this as complaining since I know my lack of experience with this sort of thing is the main issue, but a set of instructions including the most basic steps would be greatly helpful. I am pretty positive I can get this thing figured out, but I have no idea where to start. As of now all I have is an expensive little black box that beeps when I plug it in…

My questions include stuff like:
What is the Pi for?
How do I connect the Spark to the internet?
How do I view the web interface?
How do I go about updating the Spark?