LCD Backlight Timer Problem

Hi all,
I’m a complete newbie when it comes to Linux, Arduino, and pretty much everything involved with BrewPi. I am trying to learn as I go, so I apologize if this is a dumb question.

I am using an Arduino Uno and LCD shield that I made from the DIYBrewPi site. Everything appears to be up and running as expected, with one minor hitch. After about 5 or 6 minutes, the LCD on the Uno/shield shuts off. It is completely repeatable, and the only way I can figure out how to turn it back on is by completely cycling the power. It appears to be from a voltage drop on pin 15 of the LCD, which is for the backlight power. Basically, the backlight is turning off but everything else appears to continue working fine from a voltage perspective.

I first thought that it was a component issue and traced the voltage back to the P-Fet on the shield. After doing more digging and looking at the source code, I found some sections relating to backlights, timers, and resets. I also found a couple simple forum posts discussing how there is some sort of timer issue or overflow at ~18 hrs that causes issues, but I assumed that it was a different problem due to the fact that mine shuts off after about 5 minutes. I may have interpreted incorrectly, but it sounded like that other issue was also only a problem if there were no changes in the mode or LCD display for that duration, as if you were doing some kind of heat soak. I have mine controlling the fridge relay and have been messing around with the times/temperatures so that the information on the LCD is forced to update every few minutes. To be fair, I’m not sure what actually triggers the timer reset command in the code. I searched around in the GUI settings area and found nothing.

Here’s what I can tell you that might be helpful: