New Fridge Build - Glass Door Beverage Center

Hey Guys, I’m new to these forums, but I just picked up my BrewPi setup recently complete with all sensors and SSRs to build out my new fermentation chamber. I managed to pick up a frigidaire glass-door beverage center (FFBC46F5LS) for a really good deal off of craig’s list, but now that I’m looking at the wiring, I’m beginning to get a little intimidated. I’m a software engineer by profession and I never really got too much into electrical (other than building my own computers), so when I realized that the fridge I got has a digital readout / temperature control board instead of the usual rotary switch style thermostat - I began to feel like I might have bit off more than I can chew.

Attached is a picture of the basic wiring diagram:

The fundamental challenge I’m mulling over is how the control board pictured changes the steps shown in the fridge hacking guide. I know others have hacked fridges like this, but from what I can find, they jumpered the compressor control switch on the control board and then they made a switchable cord - I’m thinking I could do the same, but it’d be a shame to lose the light and temperature readout since those would only show when the compressor was running. Also, while I’m not an electrical expert, I feel like switching from completely off to on and running has got to be a bigger current spike - I’m wondering if that would have any impact on the system longevity-wise.

I’m open to suggestions, and ideally, if someone has already tackled a fridge like this and can shed any light on how best to tackle this hack.

Thanks,
Mike

Based on this very simple schematic, I think live goes in on top of the control board and goes back to the compressor on the bottom. So the control board is breaking the live wire, based on the sensor input.

I think you could put your SSR basically in place of the control board on the compressor side, but leave it for measurement.