New product prototype: counterflow chiller

Hi Guys,

I have been using a plate chiller since I started brewing, but to be honest, I don’t trust it.

The inside looks like this:

Too many little corners for nasty stuff to hide. The bigger professional plate chillers can be taken apart for cleaning and you can just boil the small ones, but still… I wanted a CFC that was as easy to keep clean as an immersion chiller, with the performance of a CFC.

So we came up with this setup:

A 10 meter long stainless steel tube (11mm ID, 12mm OD, 0,5 mm wall thickness) and a silicone outer tube (18mm ID, 24mm OD). The inner tube is similar to our HERMS coil.

The tee has a 20mm hose barb for the silicone tube, with enough clearance so the water can flow around the stainless tube. To seal off the other end, we used a cable gland. With compression fittings, the tube cannot go through all the way. The SS tube as a ridge on the end to connect a silicone beer tube with a hose clamp. Optionally, we could also use a compression fitting and camlock at the end.

You will pump beer through the inner stainless tube and water through the outer silicone tube. Being made of stainless steel and silicone, it will be very durable and will withstand aggressive chemicals.

A 10 meter version will cost 139 euro.
We have not done performance tests yet. Maybe 5 meter will be enough, which of course will be cheaper.

Let me know what you guys think.

Cheers!

2 Likes

absolutely awesome!

great work!

Looks good @Elco.

Usually they use copper for the inner tube because it offers better heat transfer properties. Stainless would be a bit easier to clean though.

I’ve seen some home made ones where they wrap the outside of the inner copper tube with thin copper wire in a spiral. This breaks up the laminar flow, causing some turbulence in the cold water flow, which improves the heat transfer further. The expensive ones use convoluted copper.

3 Likes