New to BrewPI: Quick Intro

I’m new to BrewPi but thought I’d introduce myself, talk a bit about what I’m trying to do, share a little feedback and bounce some ideas around.

I received my BrewPi Spark 2 a few days ago. When I originally ordered, I think I followed a link to the order page. I don’t believe this page mentions that you need a Raspberry Pi to make it work. I did find that info on the product info page, but didn’t find that page until after I had the unit. Fortunately I had a RasPi V1 laying around (and now have a V2 on order), and was able to get that up and running. It seems obvious now that I’d need this, but it wasn’t clear from the order page (or maybe I just missed it).

The next thing that took some time, was the need for connecting the BrewPi to the RasPi via USB. It wasn’t mentioned in the docs, and I only found obscure references to that searching through the forums. Finally, however, I figured it out.

I have it running now, but its a little unclear if I need to update the BrewPi firmware. Also the update instructions on GItHub are a little unclear (mostly because I don’t know what the different versions are and exactly what I have). This is just learning curve- but it seems for now I’m fine as-is.

I’m actually not using this for beer- I built a wine cellar for aging & storing my wine (and maybe fermenting my white wines but now I’m just making reds). I was using an STC1000 type controller, but I like the web logging, and wanted to be able to control fans/lights and have the ability to customize things. So BrewPi looks like a real good starting point for me vs. building my own.