Purchasing list for fermentation control

Hello… new user with very limited knowledge of BrewPi and programming in general. I have two fermentors, which are double-jacketed for cooling with cold water directly from the mains. The intention is to put a temp sensor inside each tank and a motorized ball valve on each to open/close water flow when needed.

So the question is, do I have everything I need to set it up? I did say I’m a newbie.

From BrewPi store:
1 x BREWPI SPARK V2 BREWING TEMPERATURE CONTROLLER
1 x BREWPI VALVE CONTROL EXPANSION BOARD
1 x WATERPROOF ENCLOSURE FOR BALL VALVE CONTROLLER
2 x MOTORIZED BALL VALVE 1/2" BSP
2 x WATERPROOF ONEWIRE TEMPERATURE SENSOR (RJ11, DS18B20), EXTRA LONG CABLE
2 x SOLID STATE RELAY (SSR), 10A

Do I need a power supply here somewhere?

Elsewhere:
Raspberry Pi 2 Model B

thanks for all help

Are you looking to maintain two separate temps here? If the answer is yes then you might be slightly disappointed as the current code doesn’t support multi chamber. This is on the road map but there is a pretty long road ahead before it will be there.

The current dev work is focused on mashing control and once that’s done multi chamber should be coming.

To answer your question about power supply you do not need one for the Spark as it is powered from the USB cable from the Raspberry Pi.

Cheers,
-Stephen

Thanks for the info and help.

If I was to control only one fermentation, then the list would be complete?

Cheers…Tom

Ok so you are going to use a coil like setup to immersion cool yes?

If yes there is really no need for a motorized valves at this time, you would simply use the cooler out SSR to switch a pump on to making the cooling water flow.

Before we dive into this it is probably good to walk through what sort of setup you want and the desired control. Start by telling me what you want to do with a single vessel and I can help point you in the right direction.

Cheers,
-Stephen