Software progress

Hi Elco et all,

I am a seasoned brewer who also likes to build things. I am not a coder. I hate to ask these questions and/or make the suggestions but I feel that I need to!

Please could you shed some light on what progress is being made with the software for the BrewPi Spark platform??

Some will cringe at another user asking and say this is a collaborative open source project etc but the reality is that most users have parted with a reasonable wad of cash to buy the Spark hardware. This makes it much more of a commercial offering and comes with it a need to fulfill reasonable expectations. If BrewPi was just freeware for my PC, I would be full of nothing but praise. But it isn’t.

Many will be happy to have something to tinker with but I can see lots of us who are feeling disappointed. There are some, like me, who are also starting to feel a little misled. I don’t say that lightly but the reason I say that is because your product shots for the spark show a HERMS screen in use, which is seemingly not near even a beta release. The transfer of previous arduino functionality to the spark with wifi was described as essentially a straight port and yet we still don’t have a stable release or user documentation. The (for me) deal breaking added functionality of direct actuators and multiple ferments was also made out to be a mid term goal.

I was all poised to document my build and shout about BrewPi spark over at Jims Beer Kit, one of the main UK homebrew forums but feel I cant right now.

You may be making more progress than I/we realise but without an active blog, a website that is out of date nor any updates/milestones in the community we just don’t know what is going on. GitHub is not user friendly for non-coders like me and expecting us to trawl through that looking for clues is probably a bit far!