Starting from scratch

Hi there, I could not find a “Begin Here” kinda topic and, as a complete newbie, I am asking for some help.

I’ve found BrewPi when looking for a solution to control remotely my fementation (fridge adapted with a basic TIC controller). As I brew in a remote site everytime I have to adjust the fridge temp I have to drive all the way to the site just to push a button… BrewPI seemed to be THE solution for my needs.

I was about to follow the “original” project (RaspPI + Arduino) and when reading the “part list” and getting ready to order I found that this version was replaced by BrewPILess, which I found extremely interesting specially for being a just “one little board does it all”, and decided to follow that project instead once I am only willing to control/monitor my fermentation fridge.

Got all the bits and pieces to run on a NodeMcu 1.0 (waiting some parts to arrive) and decided to flash version 3.5 from GitHub and try it out even without the LCD and some of the sensors (just to check how the front end works and try to figure the code behind it).

When builting I got some outdated (deprecated) libs (project is reffering to ArduinoJason 5 instead of 6 basically) and that’s why I am here and would really appreciate some hints that could put me in the right path… as I am starting from scratch perhaps there is a new track to follow. So here I go:

a) Is BrewPiLess a still undergoing project for newcomers or it has (will be) replaced completely by Spark (or any other “version”) that I should consider?

b) Am I looking the sources at the right place (GitHub) ? I’ve seen some posts relating trobuleless installs but this reference to a deprecated use of ArduinoJason in my first shot warned me that perhaps I am not looking in the right place.

c) Is it the case to consider having a topic for newbies like me? I would be glad to help once I expect to go throughout the steps from scratch.

Thanks for any hints or suggestions.

Luppi