Strange Graph Plotting

I’ve been running Brewpi for several months flawlessly. It’s been helping me make great brews. Thank you Brewpi team! Just recently while using a temperature controlled profile fermentation, the graph plotting changed and I don’t know why? Brewpi accuracy was within a 0.5 degrees, suddenly it’s moved to parallel the temp profile and moved to a 1 degree difference. The amplitude of both the fridge setting and the fridge temp have been reduced. Could this be a sensor fault? Loss of Calibration? Any suggestions?? Thank you!

This effect appears to have started around March 30 of the current ferment, right? It’s difficult to tell from the graph but it looks like up until that date your Beer Temp and Beer Setting were in very close proximity, but the two plots diverged even before you ramped up above 65F (diacetyl rest?) and have stayed consistently apart since then.

Perhaps not coincidentally it also appears that, starting March 30, your Fridge Temp started oscillating pretty fast even though there seems to be little actuator activity during that same period (and Fridge Setting stopped oscillating at this same time). The number of actuator events starting at March 30 definitely does not correspond to the number of oscillations on Fridge Temp over that same period. Granted, we’re typically talking about <= 2 degrees amplitude on the variations in Fridge Temp, but the regularity and frequency of these oscillations indicates that it’s not a natural effect like daytime rise in ambient temp. Did you take any updates to the Brewpi code or Spark/RPi firmware during the current ferment? Did a cat get into the fridge and start pawing at the fridge sensor?

I have created an Excel spreadsheet which takes the CSV download and plots beer temp, beer setting, and % error. I bet you would see about 0.1% error with this same spreadsheet until Mar 30, and then a step-function jump to about 1.5%.

Hi Dan,