Arduino Shield Alternatives

Hi everyone! My family got me everything for the BrewPi set-up for the holidays, but got it off Amazon b/c we are all state-side and they were buying late (I told them to get it from you guys… :/) except for the Arduino shield. I’m pretty new to the programming and hardware side of this, so I’m sorry in advance if this is a dumb question. I’ve seen that BrewPi isn’t making the Arduino shields anymore, and I don’t have the cash to get the new Spark (although it looks awesome!). Does anyone know what my best route might be moving forward? Thanks!

I still have a few at the office, they might be used for testing but otherwise fine. Tested even :wink:

Send me a PM or e-mail and I’ll help you get one.

Hey Elco,
I am not sure how many you might have but if @gpack doesn’t need/want one or what ever the case may be, I would be very Interested in getting one. I am still going to get the brew spark but I also would like the old shield if you have an extra you want to give up. I am in the same boat, I got the Pi, and the uno, and went to get the shield and noticed that it was out of stock and you was not making them anymore.

Thanks
Joe

I’ll take a look tomorrow how many I have left and I’ll let you know.

Awesome! thanks Elco

@Elco as time goes on and you develop and add to the software for Brewpi Spark, will the Arduino get the same updates?

I’ve finally got mine up and running and it’s running a test on an FV full of water but seems to be holding up well, and hopefully got a couple of fellow home brewers to convert to Brewpi from their current STC1000’s.

We split the software into a hardware specific part (low level drivers) and a high level application part (control).
This will allow us to use the application layer on both platforms, so yes: the Arduino will still be supported.

3 Likes

If available, I would like one please.

@Elco