Herms using a fourth vessel with herm it coil inside

Hello I’m looking for some help.

I have a HLT, MT, BK & a small cylindrical vessel with a herms coil inside, it has its own heating element & thermowell.

Can I simply adapt the Herms wizard & add another vessel?

Yes. You’ll want to run the HERMS wizard, and then add a control chain for your additional heater.

For reference, you’d be looking at duplicating the left control chain in https://brewblox.netlify.app/user/control_chains.html#mashing-with-brewblox

This is assuming that your vessel sits in line with the HLT, and functions like a HLT: it contains water to evenly heat the HERMS coil.
You can re-use the MT setpoint for both the control chain driving your HLT, and the one driving your mini-HLT.

The additional blocks are marked in cyan:

Hi Bob thanks for the reply, I’m a total newbie with this & cannot figure out how to add the extra control chains, I’ve googled as much as I can & all I get is the brewblox start up page, I’ve maybe bitten off more than I can chew, I’ve drawn up my brewery diagram using the brewery builder but don’t know how to add the logic to it?

Ok I figured out that i had to add the new blocks during the wizard set up, I added what I could from the list available, but its still not functioning properly, I think I’ve got myself confused somewhere, can anyone who has a similar set up please send through their blocks & a bit of a step by step guide on how to get this working correctly?

It seems like the control chains page could do with a section describing how to use the UI to make the theory reality. I’ll make a todo item for that.

I’ll be referring to various block types. You can find their descriptions here: https://brewblox.netlify.app/user/blocks_in_depth.html.

If you go to the Spark service page, you can see and modify all blocks on your controller.
In the top right corner is a switch between list and relations view.